Sedgwick County...working for you

Fire District 1

April Burn Ban

Sedgwick County Fire District 1 reminds residents that a burn ban imposed by the state of Kansas will be in effect in Sedgwick County during the month of April. No current permit holders will be allowed to conduct open burns after March 31, 2014.

The ban includes all open burning of any waste, including vegetation and wood waste, structures, or other material on any premises.

The following counties will be affected along with Sedgwick County: Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Cowley, Elk, Geary, Greenwood, Johnson, Lyon, Marion, Morris, Pottawatomie, Riley, Wabaunsee and Wyandotte.

Exceptions to the open burn ban include pasture, crop, range and wildlife or watershed management.  The allowed burning operations will still require a valid permit from Sedgwick County Fire District 1. Burn permits may be requested online (see below) or by calling 316-660-3473.

Always call 911 before you burn.  The Kansas Department of Health & Environment open burning regulations (K.A.R. 28-19-645 through K.A.R. 28-19-648) apply.

Questions regarding the burn ban, or fire safety in general, should be directed to the office of the Sedgwick County Fire Marshal at 316-660-3473.

Tell us how we did

If you were served by Fire District 1 recently, please take this survey regarding our ability to provide quality public service.

One survey pertains to general operations (i.e. putting out fires) and the other pertains to the fire marshal's office (i.e. prevention and permits).

We appreciate your feedback!

Burn Permits

Apply for burn permits online.

Get more information about burn permits.

Rural Address Marker Program

Help emergency services find you quickly in an emergency.  If you live in the unincorporated areas of Sedgwick County serviced by Fire District 1, the Fire District will supply and install a free address sign for your property.  Learn more about the Rural Address Marker Program and how to request your FREE sign today.