271 W. 3rd St. N. Suite 101
Wichita, KS 67202
City of Wichita
271 W. 3rd St. N. Suite 301
Wichita, KS 67202
For supervisors and general contact information, click here
For a searchable MABCD directory, click here
A legal description of the property and a tax key number of the property
must be provided to obtain a building permit. If you do not have an address
and it is not in a platted addition you must provide the legal description.
The Sedgwick County Clerk’s Office, located on the 2nd floor of the Sedgwick
County Courthouse, 525 N. Main, 660-9200 can provide you with the legal
description and tax key number.
If the property is unplatted, a copy of a filed deed is required to
apply for a platting exemption (if the property is eligible). Platting
exemptions are obtained from the MABCD, 271 W. 3rd St., Wichita, Kansas
A septic tank or lagoon permit will be required where public sewer
service is not available. These permits are obtained from the MABCD, 271 W.
3rd St., Wichita, Kansas 67211, 316-660-1840.
To find out if the proposed building site is in a floodplain, contact
the Floodplain Technician for Sedgwick County at 316-660-1840. Structures
may be built in certain types of designated floodplains, but there will be
additional requirements or
permits that will need to be obtained. This may
delay the issuance of your permit.
If any part of the structure is to be located more than 200 feet from
the public or private roadway, a road/driveway approval from the Sedgwick
County Fire Department will be required. This can be obtained by contacting
The permit fee will be based on the square footage of the structure. For
finished living area the fee will be $0.38 per finished square foot of area.
For unfinished basements, attached garages, covered porches, and decks, the
fee will be $0.30 per square foot of area.
A site plan and a road approval permit (see # 5) will be required. The permit
fee will be based on $0.30 per square foot.
MABCD Post and Frame (Pole Barn) Construction Standards
Commercial buildings should follow the same requirements as residential.
However, there will be a fee for the plan review process, and the fee schedule
for the permits will be based on the valuation of the project. Each phase of the
project, building, plumbing, mechanical, and electrical will be required to have
separate permits for each trade. Three sets of design plans must be sealed by a
Design Professional licensed by State of Kansas and delivered to the Plans
Examiner a minimum of two weeks prior to the permits being obtained.
Yes. Building permits and
inspections are required in the unincorporated areas and in most cities in
Sedgwick County. Call 660-1840 for information and assistance.
RESPONSIBILITIES OF HOMEOWNERS WHO ACT AS THEIR
OWN GENERAL CONTRACTORS OR OBTAIN A BUILDING PERMIT IN THEIR NAME:
When you act as the general contractor of a project and
personally obtain the building permit to work on your residence, you may not be
aware of the many responsibilities. You may still have the same responsibilities
and liabilities as a licensed contractor if you purchase a building permit in
your name and have a general contractor complete the work. Some of the
responsibilities and liabilities that you may incur are as follows:
If the work is sub-standard you will be
responsible, not the workers
You will have limited recourse through
Sedgwick County for sub-standard work
You will be responsible for any fines or
additional fees charged by Sedgwick County
You may be responsible for all bills of
sub-contractors, including labor wage complaints.
Sub-contractors could file a lien against your
property for unpaid materials. You should obtain a lien release
from your sub-contractors.
You must make sure that all sub-contractors
are licensed through MABCD and that the
sub-contractors insurance is up to date. You may confirm this
with the MABCD, but you should also
obtain a copy of your sub-contractors insurance policy.
If a worker is injured on the job, you may be
responsible for the lost wages and medical treatment.
If a worker dies while working on your
project, his estate may file legal action against you.
Homeowners’ insurance may not cover injury to
your workers. You should verify your coverage with your
The building permit will expire in 180 days if
work does not progress in a timely manner.
You must coordinate all inspections in the
proper sequence with the MABCD.
You may be responsible for employment and
Social Security taxes of workers that are employed by you acting
as your own general contractor.
Yes. A permit and inspection
are required. Call 660-1840 for assistance.
No. Only MABCD
licensed electrical contractors can move, alter, enlarge or change the
electric service. An electrical permit is also required.
Yes, upon satisfactory
completion of the MABCD electrical homeowner’s test and plan review. Call
268-4311 for assistance.
Yes, if you are the owner and occupant and upon completion of MABCD
electrical homeowners test and plan review.
Yes, the code requires an egress out of every bedroom for your safety.
All emergency escape and rescue openings shall have a minimum net clear
opening of 4.5 square feet with the window in an open position.
The minimum net clear opening height shall be 19Â¾ inches for single, double
hung and awning style windows. For all other types of windows the minimum height
shall be determined by multiplying the width times the height to achieve a total
net clear opening of 4.5 square feet.
The minimum net clear opening width shall be 17 inches in the open position
for casements and slider windows, or 30Â¼ inches for single and double hung
A 20-minute occupancy separation must be maintained. This can be
accomplished by covering both sides of the wall (the garage side & the
living side) with a minimum layer of 1/2“ sheetrock covering the wall studs.
10 ft. for a tank of 500 gallons or less
25 ft. for a tank of 501-2000 gallons
50 ft. for a tank over 2000 gallons
No. Only plumbers and LP
installers licensed in Sedgwick County may install gas piping.
Yes. The code requires not more that 3/8” total difference in
variation from the top to bottom of stairway. The maximum rise of each tread
is 8”. The minimum tread width of each step is 9”.
Handrails are needed when you
have 4 or more risers (steps). Guardrails are needed when you are more than
30” off the ground.
Staircases required 6’ 6”
Yes, you must first pass the plumbing homeowners test
available by calling 660-1840.
Lead, Copper or Brass
A minimum of 18” of dirt needs
to be over the pipe.
Yes. Call 660-1840 for a
No, you may not.
Yes, once every three years.
A detached residential structure of less than 200
square feet will not require a building permit.
Call the Sedgwick County Fire
Department at 660-3495 for current information.
Apply for a fire road approval at the MABCD
and pay a $50.00 fee.
Call the Sedgwick County Fire Department at 744-0471 for an
Call 660-1840 to inquire about wastewater systems.
Contact the MABCD at
660-1840 or 268-4413 and ask if contractor is licensed before signing any contract or
hiring the contractor.
Yes, a permit is required, and an inspection is performed to ensure the
safety of the installation.
If installing a furnace or water heater yourself, call 660-1840 for
advice, assistance and a permit.
If you are paying someone else to install it, call 660-1840 or 268-4413 to make
sure he or she is licensed to perform such work in Sedgwick County. After
it is installed, make sure your contractor calls us for an inspection.
Please call us at 660-1840 between 7:30 a.m. and 5
p.m. Monday through Friday.
The Mission of
Sedgwick County is to provide quality public services to our community
so everyone can pursue freedom and prosperity in a safe, secure, and
© Copyright 2014
and Notice of Privacy Practices Regarding Medical Information.