SEDGWICK COUNTY RESOLUTION NO. 122-2017

Published	on	

A RESOLUTION TO AMEND EXHIBIT A OF SEDGWICK COUNTY RESOLUTION NO. 12-2014 AND TO DESIGNATE A PUBLIC AREA OF THE SEDGWICK COUNTY COURTHOUSE WHERE CARRYING A CONCEALED HANDGUN IS PROHIBITED

WHEREAS, the Kansas Bill of Rights provides, in part, that a person has the right to keep and bear arms for the defense of self, family, home and state, and the Supreme Court of the United States has upheld the individual right to keep and bear arms; and

WHEREAS, the State of Kansas has enacted the Personal and Family Protection Act (K.S.A. 75-7c01, *et seq.*, hereinafter referred to as "the Act"); and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Resolution No. 189-2013 and then Resolution No. 12-2014 (which amended Resolution No. 189-2013), the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County ("County") designated the Sedgwick County Courthouse at 525 N. Main St., Wichita, Kansas (hereinafter "the Courthouse") as a building where carrying a concealed handgun is not permitted; and

WHEREAS, the County has constructed a secure handgun storage locker area near the public entrance on the first floor of the Courthouse for individuals to store their handguns; and

WHEREAS, the County wishes to allow the carrying of concealed handguns in a portion of the Courthouse so that individuals may access the gun storage locker area with their handgun; and

WHEREAS, the County wishes to amend Resolution No. 12-2014 such that the Courthouse is no longer a facility listed under Exhibit "A"; and

WHEREAS, the County wishes to designate all areas within the Courthouse except for pre-screening area as a "public area" where, pursuant to K.S.A. 75-7c20(a), the carrying of a concealed handgun is prohibited; and

WHEREAS, the County intends to provide adequate security measures in the public area of the Courthouse; and

WHEREAS, the County intends to conspicuously post the public area consistent with the Act.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, THAT:

SECTION 1.

Exhibit A, Page 1 of Resolution No. 12-2014 is amended to remove the Courthouse from the listing of buildings where carrying a concealed handgun is not permitted. The remainder of Resolution No. 12-2014 remains in full force and effect.

SECTION 2.

All of the Courthouse, except for the Pre-Screening Area on the first floor of the Courthouse identified within Appendix A to this Resolution, is designated as a public area where the carrying of a concealed handgun is prohibited pursuant to K.S.A. 75-7c20.

SECTION 3.

The County continues to maintain adequate security measures, as defined by the Act. Also, consistent with K.S.A. 75-7c20(m)(1), the County has supplemented those measures through the construction of the secure handgun storage locker area.

SECTION 4.

Consistent with the provisions contained herein, the County:

- (a) adopts the wording indicated within Appendix B to this Resolution to replace the signage and wording that is presently posted on the exterior entrances to the Pre-Screening Area identified within Appendix A;
- (b) adopts the signage (2 signs) indicated within Appendix C to this Resolution for placement on the public-facing / eastern side of both Pillars 1 and 2, as identified within Appendix A; and
- (c) such signage shall follow the requirements of the Act and administrative regulations for such concealed carry signs adopted by the Kansas Attorney General pursuant to the Act.

SECTION 5.

The Sedgwick County Clerk is directed to publish this Resolution once in the official county newspaper. This Resolution shall become effective upon its approval and passage.

Commissioners present and voting we

DAVID M. UNRUH	AYE
MICHAEL B. O'DONNELL, II	AYE
DAVID T. DENNIS	AYE
RICHARD RANZAU	AYE
JAMES M. HOWELL	AYE

Dated this 5th day of July, 2017.

ATTEST:	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
KELLY B. ARNOLD, County Clerk	DAVID M. UNRUH, Chairman Commissioner, First District
	MICHAEL B. O'DONNELL, II, Chair Pro Tem Commissioner, Second District
APPROVED AS TO FORM:	DAVID T. DENNIS Commissioner, Third District
JUSTIN M. WAGGONER, Assistant County Counselor	RICHARD RANZAU Commissioner, Fourth District
	JAMES M. HOWELL Commissioner, Fifth District